MAC Pro Longwear Foundation review

I have been trialling the MAC Pro Longwear foundation for 2 weeks. As a selling point, the foundation claims to last for 14 hours, has buildable coverage and is lightweight. I have been using the pro longwear foundation in NC42 and setting it with MAC Mineralize Skin Finish Natural powder in Medium Dark.

Does it last 14 hours?

With and without the mineral powder, the foundation lasts quite well. However, it did fade slightly from my chin and nose when I didn’t set it with the powder. It’s important to not using your fingertips with this foundation because I found that it definitely blended better with a foundation brush. The powder is a must for staying power. In comparison to Revlon’s Colorstay (which is a cheaper version of the same product), there’s only slight differences. The Revlon Colorstay has the same staying power as MAC. However, I would definitely use the MAC Mineralize powder to set the foundation, because it is mattifying and not cakey.

Does it have buildable coverage?

Not as much as I’d like. The coverage is medium as opposed to MAC Studio Fix. However, I have slight pigmentation on my cheek and it covered it well. The good thing about the coverage is that it does not apply too heavy. If you are looking to have full coverage, then this is not the product you want.

Is it lightweight?

It goes on very smoothly and does not feel heavy at all. With some other long lasting foundations, I have found that after ten minutes, I feel like a have a clay mask on. This is actually quite light for its durability.

Other Points

In terms of colour, the NC42 has a yellow base which is great for my skin colour and turns out well in photos. BUT after a few hours, my face looks quite oily. I have combination skin which means that my t-zone gets oily quite quickly and my cheeks get dry. Ideally, I would want a foundation to counteract that as much as possible.

Would I recommend it?

It is a good product and lasts well. However, Revlon Colourstay performs the same task equally well and is better priced. If you’re looking for price performance, then the Pro Longwear is not suited to you. The only advantage of MAC’s product is that it gives a great colour in the darker shades and hides pigmentation very well. It is definitely better for people with drier skin as it’s quite moisturising. If you’re skin is naturally oily, this foundation will only enhance that after a few hours.

Rating

3.5/5

This entry was published on August 3, 2011 at 8:54 am and is filed under Beauty, Opinion. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

